Review: You Don’t Live Here (Robyn Schneider)

You Don’t Live Here
Author: Robyn Schneider
Publication Date: June 2, 2020
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, LGBTQ+
Note: This review is for an ARC and is my unbiased opinion.

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ½

Synopsis:

Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything, delivers a witty and heartbreaking tale of first love, second beginnings, and last chances in this timely and authentic bisexual coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera.

In Southern California, no one lives more than thirty miles from the nearest fault line. Sasha Bloom is standing right on top of one when her world literally crumbles around her. With her mother now dead and father out of the picture, Sasha moves in with her estranged grandparents.

Living in her mom’s old bedroom, Sasha has no idea who she is anymore. Luckily, her grandparents are certain they know who she should be: A lawyer in the making. Ten pounds skinnier. In a socially advantageous relationship with a boy from a good family—a boy like Cole Edwards.

And Cole has ideas for who Sasha should be, too. His plus one at lunch. His girlfriend. His.

Sasha tries to make everything work, but that means folding away her love of photography, her grief for her mother, and he growing interest in the magnificently clever Lily Chen. Sasha wants to follow Lily off the beaten path, to discover hidden beaches, secret menus, and the truth about dinosaur pee.

But being friends with Lily might lead somewhere new. Is Sasha willing to stop being the girl everyone expects and let the girl beneath the surface breath through?


You Don’t Live Here was just… sad. There’s no other way to describe it. It’s about a high school junior whose mother dies and she has to go live with her rich grandparents. Sasha is afraid to admit who she is and wants to be and what she likes. She doesn’t want to let her grandparents down. So, basically, it’s about grief and self-discovery. It was well written and a good story, but it just made me sad.

19 thoughts on “Review: You Don’t Live Here (Robyn Schneider)”

  1. I’ve never read anything by Schneider but I’ve seen her books a lot lot. It’s tough when a story leaves you feeling melancholy. Even when the ending is overall hopeful, it just feels sad. I felt that way about A List of Cages.

    1. I really loved the first two books of hers I read. This one just needed something to make me happier.

  2. Oh no. I’m so sorry to hear that this was so sad 🙁 I loved Robyn Schneider’s previous work, but I might keep this one on my radar for a little later, when I’m in the mood for these kind of stories. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    1. If you like her writing, you would probably appreciate it. Later might be better. Or maybe It was just my mood?

  3. Aww man! I definitely don’t need anything that just leaves me feeling sad right now. Hope your next book is super happy to make up for it!!

  4. I’ve enjoyed her work in the past and I’ve been curious about this one, but it does sound too sad to read in these strange times…

    1. For me, it was. It could have been my mood. It might not be as sad as I said. Maybe check out some other reads first because her writing is good.

  5. I am glad to hear that you found this one to be well-written, but the sad theme is hard to handle. Especially right now. I will have to try this one some time far into the future because it does sound like one that I would typically enjoy. I hope that you have some lighter reads on hand. 😉

    1. I think if you have read her other books and I liked them, then you will want to read this one at some point. Even if you haven’t, it’s a good read in general. Just not for a sad mood.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.